Theft

What is considered a theft in Tennessee?A theft is committed when someone takes the property of someone else with no intention of giving it back to its rightful owner.

What are the punishments for theft in Tennessee?

Class A Misdemeanor Theft 

If the value of the property or services stolen is $1,000 or less, that is a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee and carries a punishment of imprisonment for a term of no more than 11 months and 29 days and a fine of no more than $2,500 (or both)

Class E Felony TheftIf the value of the property or services stolen is more than $1,000 but less than $2,500, that is a Class E felony in Tennessee, and carries a punishment of imprisonment for a term of 1-6 years, and a fine of no more than $3,000.

Class D Felony TheftIf the value of the property or services stolen is $2,500 or more but less than $10,000, that is a Class D felony in Tennessee, and carries a punishment 2-12 years, and a fine not to exceed $5,000.

Class C Felony Theft

If the value of the property or services stolen is $10,000 or more but less than $60,000, that is a Class C felony in Tennessee, and carries a punishment of 3-15 years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.

Class B Felony TheftIf the value of the property or services stolen is $60,000 or more, that is a Class B felony in Tennessee and carries a punishment of 8-30 years, and a fine not to exceed $25,000.

Class A Felony TheftIf the value of the property or services stolen is $250,000 or more, that is a Class A felony in Tennessee and carries a punishment of 15-60 years, and a fine not to exceed $25,000.

Client Reviews

★★★★★
Great and professional staff. Quick to answer questions and very helpful. My case was settled to my satisfaction. If in the future I need legal assistance they would be my first call. — Bean
★★★★★
The best criminal defense attorney in Nashville! — H.M.
★★★★★
I am very thankful to him for helping me end a rather terrible experience as quickly as possible. He has my highest recommendation — J.Y.