WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA IN TENNESSEE?
Simple possession of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor and carries a penalty of up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and a $2,500 fine. Some jurisdictions are less-likely than others to put first-time offenders behind bars, but several courts in Tennessee do require jail time for even a first offense. A third conviction for simple possession is a Class E felony.
Possession with intent to sell is a felony in Tennessee. The class of felony is determined by the amount of marijuana:
|Amount||Class of Felony||Jail Time||Fines|
|0.5 oz to 10 lbs||Class E Felony||1-6 years||Up to $5,000.00|
|10 lbs to 70 lbs||Class D Felony||2-12 years||Up to $50,000.00|
|70 lbs to 300 lbs||Class B Felony||8-30 years||Up to $200,000.00|
|More than 300 lbs||Class A Felony||15-60 years||Up to $500,000.00|
A conviction for drug possession in Tennessee will result in a permanent mark on your criminal record, meaning that any time a potential employer, landlord, university, or other party performs a criminal background check, the conviction for drug possession will be returned. The lasting consequences of a conviction for drug possession is why it is so important to have fierce representation from an experienced drug lawyer in Tennessee. Don Himmelberg has over 25 years of legal experience, and his experience as a prosecutor gives him unique insight into how to defend marijuana possession cases.
If you are arrested for marijuana possession in Tennessee, call M. Don Himmelberg & Associates at 615-308-5405 to schedule your free consultation and begin planning your aggressive legal defense.