Boating Under the Influence
Many Tennesseans favorite hobby is boating. It is also a crime in Tennessee to operate a watercraft while under the influence of alcohol. Again the BAC limit in Tennessee for operating a watercraft is .08. The crime and punishments are not the same as DUI and there are several defenses you can raise to BUI that may not be available for DUI.
Most often, the same Field Sobriety Tests and Breathalyzer tests are used for Boating Under the Influence as they are for Driving Under the Influence.
The Penalties for BUI are as follows:
BUI 1st Offense
Fine: $250.00 minimum, $2,500.00 maximum Jail: Up to 11 months and 29 days, Boating License may be suspended for up to one year
BUI 2nd Offense
Fine: $500.00 minimum, $2,500.00 maximum Jail: Up to 11 Months and 29 days Boating License will be suspended for two years
BUI 3rd Offense or more
Fine: $1,000.00 minimum, $5,000.00 maximum Jail: Minimum of 30 days, Maximum up to 11 months and 29 days Boating License will be suspended for 3 years minimum, 10 years maximum